Thursday, September 11, 2008

Position Instability, Part 2

The 2008 Mets are the 17th team, counting the 1961 Kansas City Athletics and 1976 Montreal Expos twice, to start at least 12 players at a single position.

Most different starters at any team-position, excluding pitchers and designated hitters, 1956-2007:
2002 Cleveland IndiansLFRussell Branyan3915
1961 Kansas City AthleticsRFJim Rivera2913
1968 Cleveland IndiansLFLee Maye6513
1976 Montreal ExposLFBombo Rivera4413Andre Dawson’s arrival in September solidified the OF.
2001 Pittsburgh PiratesRFJohn Vander Wal5113Operation Shutdown
1961 Kansas City AthleticsLFLeo Posada5312Don Larsen (yes, that one) started one game in LF.
1976 Montreal ExposRFGary Carter3112
1987 Detroit TigersRFPat Sheridan8612
1992 Oakland AthleticsRFJose Canseco7612
1993 Cincinnati RedsLFKevin Mitchell8512
1997 Cincinnati RedsLFChris Stynes3812
2000 New York MetsLFBenny Agbayani8812Rickey Henderson was cut 37 games into the season.
2001 Colorado RockiesLFRon Gant4812
2003 Texas RangersLFShane Spencer4012
2004 Kansas City RoyalsLFDee Brown4912
2004 Tampa Bay Devil RaysLFCarl Crawford11512

Most different starters at a given team-position, 1956-2007:
1967 New York MetsPTom Seaver3420
1960 Chicago CubsCEl Tappe388
1998 New York MetsCMike Piazza998The Mets used 5 catchers before trading for Piazza on May 22.
1976 Cleveland Indians1BBoog Powell8311
(12 different teams)2B8Last: 2005 Reds and Nationals.
1958 Cleveland Indians3BVic Power4011
1987 Pittsburgh PiratesSSAl Pedrique689
2002 Cleveland IndiansLFRussell Branyan3915
2007 Oakland AthleticsCFNick Swisher5711Travis Buck is the only one of the 11 to play for the A’s in 2008.
1961 Kansas City AthleticsRFJim Rivera2913
2001 Pittsburgh PiratesRFJohn Vander Wal5113
1989 Texas RangersDHHarold Baines4419Stabilized after the Sosa for Baines trade.

Comments on "Position Instability, Part 2"


post a comment